February 3rd, 2015

Mixpak FM: Hann


Mixpak FM 078 is a special episode from Hann, a Long Island / Bronx duo made up of 18-year-old Lite feet producers Chris Designs & Lil Live. Lite Feet, as its name might suggest, is both a genre and a style of dance with a strong foothold in New York City culture. Now ubiquitous on the subway, Litefeet dancers have been around since the mid 00s, mostly hailing from Harlem or The Bronx, with the dance bearing some kind of familial resemblance to B-Boying or Popping. In the past year, the NYPD have cracked down on the dance on the subway, which has also had various film pieces & articles on it if you want to experience the look & feel of the dance from afar.

Though the music is integral to the dance, there has been little emphasis on the producers behind the energetic 100 BPM tracks, that often use heavy samples and switch up every 8 bars for the dancers to show off their acrobatics in battle. It looks like this is set to change; Hann have a Fact Mag documentary (trailer below), collaborations with Zora Jones and Cabo Blanco, and a solo EP in the works for 2015.

Their Mixpak FM is exclusively tracks produced or remixed by the duo, a 45-minute 35 track look into the sound – combining Lite Feet with NY party staples, from dancehall to rap to RnB.

You can subscribe to Mixpak FM via iTunes, subscribe with an RSS reader from the Mixpak FM site or download this mix directly.

Download – Mixpak FM 078: Hann

Mixpak FM 078: Hann

1. Hann – Jook So (Remix) (Ft. Aidonia)
2. Hann – Body Language (Remix) (Ft. Kid Ink, Usher & Tinashe)
3. Hann – Came To Do (Remix) (Ft. Chris Brown & Akon)
4. Hann – Mind Made Up
5. Hann – Suavemente
6. Chris Designs – N.Y.O.P
7. Hann – Litefeet Jungle
8. Hann – Real Jam (Remix)
9. Hann – Party Rhyme
10. Lil Live – Dumbo (Remix)
11. Lil Live – New Whip
12. Lil Live – Forever Wu
13. Lil Live – Club Drop
14. Hann – Keep It Locked
15. Hann – Get James
16. Chris Designs – F.U.N.K.Y B.E.A.T.T
17. Lil Live – I Wanna Rock
18. Chris Designs – Whine Up
19. Lil Live – Feel That Good
20. Lil Live – Runner Man
21. Lil Live – Catchin’ 100s
22. Lil Live – Baseball Bat
23. Lil Live – Erase Away
24. Lil Live – Gettin’ Jiggy
25. Lil Live – New Thous
26. Hann – Willy Wrap
27. Chris Designs – Party Stand Up
28. Lil Live – Blackout
29. Hann – Take That Turn
30. Chris Designs – Turn It Wack
31. Hann – Mic Check
32. Hann – Adult Swim (Remix) (Ft. DJ SpinKing, Tyga, A$AP Ferg, Jeremih & Velous)
33. Hann – 2 On (Remix) (Ft. Tinashe & Schoolboy Q)
34. Hann – Gal A Bubble (Remix) (Ft. Konshens)